Skip to main content
menu close

Weekly Session 13 - LGBT+ Rights

Secretary Thu, 02/08/2018 - 09:49

LGBT+ Rights

The rights of LGBTQ+ people is universally considered a controversial topic. These rights vary from country to country- even territory to territory. LGBTQ+ rights often revolve around entitlement of gay men to marry, despite the issue containing several more nuanced subjects. These can include, but are not limited to, the following: sodomy laws, recognition of same-sex relationships, LGBT Parenting laws, anti-discrimination laws, “Bathroom Bills, hate crime laws, sexual reassignment surgery (SAS) or hormone replacement therapy (HRT) laws and Patriotic Assistance laws.
Almost all North America (Canada, America, Mexico) all allow LGBTQ+ marriage, recognition, and gender-transitioning rights. However, the lesser-known nations like Guatemala and the Barbados are more behind- including the penalty of life-imprisonment.
South America mirrors it’s northern continent- the major nations like Argentina, Brazil and Colombia all provide ample rights towards LGBTQ+ individuals. However, nations like Venezuela and Boliva do not.
The European Union regards same-sex unions as legal by 22 of the 28 members. However, same-sex marriage is only recognized by 13, and adoption by 14. 89% of the European Union members have laws prohibiting discrimination, and laws recognizing transgender rights. Eastern European nations forbids same-sex unions, marriage, and adoption. In the few states that allow transitioning by trans* individuals, they must undergo state-required sterilization beforehand. Chechnya is the sole exception to any of these rules- stating that all homosexual activity is a felony. Central and Southern Europe has nations that accept same sex activity, as well as same sex unions (except for Poland and Slovakia). Almost these states have laws forbidding hate crime and discrimination, and recognize transgender rights. 
Central Asia’s nations believe that sexual activity among homosexual men is illegal, while female homosexuality is almost always legalized due to lack of policy regarding the issue. All other issues regarding sexuality-based rights of LGBTQ+ individuals are illegal/not recognized. Most Eurasian nations forbid LGBTQ+ activity: sexual or otherwise. However, the rights of transgender individuals vary per state. Western Asian nations like Iran, Iraq and Saudi Arabia all forbid any action regarding LGBTQ+ rights. In fact, 6 of the 14 territories listed cite policy that considers same-sex sexual activity to be a act punishable by death. However, the sole exception is Israel, which allows unregistered cohabitation, sexual activity, and gender transitioning rights.  South Asia forbids most LGBTQ+ rights, except for India’s third gender policies. Finally, East Asian nations regard same-sex sexual activity as legally acceptable, and gender-transitioning among transgender individuals as acceptable, but all other LGBTQ+ rights are not recognized.
Apart from a few areas (Canary Islands, Cueta, Maderia, Melilla, and Saint Helena) every other African population does not accept LGBTQ rights and anti-discrimination laws. In fact, in 5 countries (Somalia, Somaliland, Sudan, Nigeria and Mauntania) provide laws that advocate for the death penalty to all LGBTQ+ people.  While a minority allow same-sex sexual activity, most nations in Africa’s acceptance rights end there.